What's New

September 6, 2019

October 2nd: 2019 Walter J. Hickel and William A. Egan Awards Gala

2019 Walter J. Hickel and William A. Egan Awards Gala
Honoring Admiral Thomas Barrett & John Sturgeon
The Dena’ina Center
October 2nd
Reception begins at 5:30pm
Business Attire
Commonwealth North continues our tradition of honoring outstanding Alaskans and policy-makers with The Walter J. Hickel Award for Distinguished Public Policy Leadership, and this year we introduce the William A. Egan Distinguished Alaskan Award. These honors go to policy influencers who have led and added clarity to public policy issues in Alaska and the Nation. This year, we will honor Admiral Thomas Barrett, President, Alyeska Pipeline Service Company, with the Hickel Award; and John Sturgeon with the Egan Award. John will be the first recipient of the Egan Award for his dedication to conservation, wildlife and resource development issues, and his historic U.S. Supreme Court journey to reestablish Alaska’s right to manage its own waterways.
The evening will include great food, drinks, entertainment, and a look back at their contributions to Alaska.

Former recipients of the Hickel Award include: Walter Hickel, Ted Stevens, Jay Hammond, Don Young, John Katz, Willie Hensley, Lisa Murkowski, Tony Knowles, Frank Murkowski and Jim Jansen.

If you would like to sponsor a table or be recognized as a contributor, contact Jim Egan at (907) 258-9524, or exec@commonwealthnorth.org.

Thank you to our generous sponsors!