Commonwealth North
Calendar Study and Action Groups Programs Reports Members

 In this section:

Who we are
Board of Directors & Officers
What's New

 Sign up for Newsletter:

Home  >  About  >  Who We Are
Who We Are


The purpose of Commonwealth North is to educate its members and others on significant public policy issues affecting Alaska and its future, and to assist in their resolution.


Commonwealth North leads Alaskans to adopt enlightened policies that enhance Alaskans' quality of life and that improve the State's ability to effectively manage its resources.

Core Values

  1. Recognize the State's unique obligation to manage the common wealth of Alaska
  2. Commit to the future of Alaska
  3. Put Alaska's interests before special interests
  4. Exercise intellectual integrity and rigor
  5. Respect all peoples and cultures

Commonwealth North was co-founded by former Alaska Governors Walter J. Hickel and the late William A. Egan.

Commonwealth North provides an educational forum where opinion leaders and activists in Alaska can gather to review public policy issues and topics affecting the state. Commonwealth North is a non-partisan organization where cultural and professional diversity is welcomed. Monthly forums are held to hear from renowned speakers on a wide variety of stimulating and controversial subjects. Working committees, called Study Groups, are formed by its membership to research critical issues and to produce reports or publications. Commonwealth North is funded by individual memberships and private sector funds.

Download '09 Reports

(801 KB)
2011 Annual Report

(122 KB)
CWN 2011 Legislator Meet and Greet Debrief

NOTE: Many of the documents are in PDF format and require Adobe Acrobat Reader for viewing. Acrobat Reader software may be downloaded for free from Adobe Systems, Inc.

First National Bank of Alaska

© Copyright 2016, Commonwealth North 711 M Street, Suite 104  Anchorage, AK 99501
Tel: (907) 276-1414 , Fax: (907) 276-6350     Contact Us
This site sponsored by First National Bank Alaska.