Commonwealth North’s mission is to educate Alaskans on significant public policy issues and assist in identifying effective solutions.

In that process, CWN fills a unique, non-partisan niche that provides Alaskans with access to policy makers, frank dialogue, and continual civic engagement.  We bring clarity to issues free from political bias, and advocate for thoughtful, deliberative development of public policy.

Governors Bill Egan and Walter Hickel founded the organization in 1979 to bring together Alaskans who cared about Alaska then and into its future. Having once been political opponents, they united to create a non-partisan environment that continues to bring together some of the most inspiring leaders and thinkers of the day; to study and explore the unique nature of Alaska; to wrestle with the toughest policy issues; and prepare Alaskans to step up to public service.

Click here to receive announcements about upcoming events and study groups.

August 23rd: Energy Action Coalition

Energy Action Coalition Opportunities & Challenges of a Chugach Electric / ML&P Merger Friday, August 23rd noon-1pm Alaska USA Federal Credit Union 500 W 36th Avenue   Mark Foster, Principal at Mark A. Foster and Associates, will give us his analysis of the opportunities and challenges associated with the proposed acquisition of ML&P by Chugach […]

August 21st: Breakfast with the Chairman of the NEH

CWN Presents The Value of Civic Education August 21st 7:30am-8:30am Breakfast The Petroleum Club of Anchorage 3301 C Street Video of this program is available online. Commonwealth North welcomes Jon Parrish Peede, Chairman of the National Endowment for the Humanities, to our August forum. He will discuss the value of civic education in growing our […]

Energy and Natural Resource Policy Update with U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski

Energy and Natural Resource Policy Update with U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski Friday, July 19th The Dena’ina Center 600 W 7th Ave Noon-1:00pm (doors open at 11:45am) Video of this event is now available online. CWN is pleased to welcome U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski for an update on congressional energy and natural resource policies affecting Alaska. […]

Commonwealth North
PO Box 240668, Anchorage AK 99524
Tel: (907) 276-1414   Fax: (907) 276-6350